CHAIR OF ARCHITECTURE
AND URBAN DESIGN —

PROF. KEES CHRISTIAANSE

ETH Zurich – Institute for Urban Design
ONA G41 – Neunbrunnenstrasse 50 – 8093 Zurich
contact

TEACHING


DESIGN STUDIO HS16 AMSTERDAM WATERFRONT


Design Studio HS16 Amsterdam Waterfront

Amsterdam Waterfront 

Whether London, Boston or Copenhagen, the centers of cities move towards the water. Amsterdam too is looking for a new relationship with its fast developing areas on the north-side of the estuary IJ, which separates Amsterdam’s north from its south.  

 

Concurring with the closing of two big shipyards in the 1980s a transformation process started along the waterfront. Nowadays new developments cover almost the entire shoreline of the IJ. Its central location right next to the central station, its proximity to the water and the vast areas abandoned by the former industries, make the waterfront an attractive development area and field of experimentation for new actors and for the implementation of new uses. The planning vision of the “sprong over het IJ“ - the jump over the IJ is within reach but the question what kind of city should emerge there is still open. 

 

In our design studio we pursue the question of the future meaning of Amsterdam‘s north based on the case study site of Draad en Kabelfabriek (Draka). Urban design concepts should investigate the area in the context of a larger spatial vision for Amsterdam‘s waterfront. 

Supported by the Chair of Cognitive Science (professorship Christoph Hölscher) we will search for innovative approaches and transformation strategies for the waterfront’s possible development. Hereby both superordinate connections as well as specific on-site conditions will be part of our consideration. 

 

The design studio includes a four day trip to Amsterdam at the beginning of the semester (participation optional). The processing of the design task takes place in teams of 3-4 students. 

 

Structure of the semester: 

Participants: max. 36 students 

Studio location: ONA, E25 

Working method: teamwork 

Excursion to Amsterdam: 01.-04.10.2016 (travel costs 500 CHF +/-10%, transport costs and three overnight stays are included, participation optional, please check possible time conflicts with obligatory lecture series on 03.10.2016) 

ECTS: 13 + 3 credit points (integrated. discipline planning 063-1401- 16) 

Teaching language: German/English (reviews partially in English) 

Cooperation with: Chair of Cognitive Science (professorship Christoph Hölscher) 

Introduction: Tuesday, 20.09.2016, 10:00, ONA G27 

Final review: Wednesday, 21.12.2016, 10:00, ONA G27 

Semester costs: 0 CHF 

 

Kontakt: Christian Weyell

PROFESSUR FÜR ARCHITEKTUR
UND STÄDTEBAU —

PROF. KEES CHRISTIAANSE

Postanschrift: ETH Zürich – Institut für Städtebau
HIL – Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5 – 8093 Zürich
Besucheradresse: ETH Zürich – Institut für Städtebau
ONA G 41 – Neunbrunnenstrasse 50 – 8050 Zürich
Kontakt

LEHRE


ENTWURF HS16 AMSTERDAM WATERFRONT


Design Studio HS16 Amsterdam Waterfront

Amsterdam Waterfront 

Ob London, Boston, Kopenhagen oder Hamburg, die Zentren der Städte verschieben sich zum Wasser. Auch die Stadt Amsterdam ist auf der Suche nach einem neuen Bezug zu den sich schnell entwickelnden Stadtgebieten nördlich des Meeresarmes IJ, der den Amsterdamer Norden vom Süden trennt.  

 

Mit der Schliessung zweier grosser Schiffswerften in den 1980er Jahren setzte dort ein Transformationsprozess ein, der inzwischen fast den gesamten Uferbereich des IJ erfasst hat. Die zentrale Lage direkt gegenüber dem Hauptbahnhof, die Nähe zum Wasser und den grossflächigen, frei gewordenen Industriearealen machen die Waterfront zu einem attraktiven Entwicklungsgebiet und einem Experimentierfeld für neue Akteure und Nutzungen. Die planerische Vision vom Sprung über das IJ scheint in greifbarer Nähe - doch welche Art von Stadt soll hier entstehen?

 

In unserem Entwurfsstudio werden wir die Frage nach der zukünftigen Bedeutung des Amsterdamer Nordens anhand des Areals der Amsterdamer Draad en Kabelfabriek (Draka) vertiefen. Mit städtebaulichen Entwürfen soll das Gebiet, in den Kontext einer räumlichen Vision für die Amsterdamer Waterfront gesetzt werden.

 

Unterstützt vom Lehrstuhl für Kognitionswissenschaft (Professur Christoph Hölscher) werden wir nach innovativen Ansätzen und Transformationsstrategien für die Entwicklung dieser neuen Waterfront suchen. Dabei werden sowohl übergeordnete Zusammenhänge als auch die konkrete Situation vor Ort in die Betrachtung miteinbezogen. 

 

Das Entwurfsstudio beinhaltet eine viertägige Exkursion nach Amsterdam zu Beginn des Semesters (Teilnahme empfohlen). Die Bearbeitung der Entwurfsaufgabe erfolgt in Gruppen von jeweils 3-4 Studierenden.

 

Aufbau des Entwurfsstudios:

Teilnehemer: max. 36 Studierende 

Raum: ONA, E25

Arbeitsweise: Gruppenarbeit

Exkursion: 01.-04.10.2016 (Reisekosten pauschal 500 CHF +/-10%, Hin- und Rückfahrt und drei Übernachtungen inbegriffen, Teilnahme nicht zwingend, Teilnehmer werden gebeten mögliche Terminkollisionen mit obligatorischen Vorlesungen am 03.10.2016 zu prüfen))

ECTS: 13 + 3 Kreditpunkte (integr. Disziplin Planung 063-1401-16)

Unterrichtssprache: Deutsch/Englisch (Zwischenkritiken teilweise in englischer Sprache)

Zusammenarbeit: Lehrstuhl für Kognitionswissenschaft (Professur Christoph Hölscher)

Einführung: Dienstag, 20.09.2016, 10:00 Uhr, ONA G27  

Schlusskritik: Mittwoch, 21.12.2016, 10:00 Uhr, ONA G27 

Semestergebühr: 0 CHF


Kontakt: Christian Weyell