CHAIR OF ARCHITECTURE
AND URBAN DESIGN —

PROF. KEES CHRISTIAANSE

ETH Zurich – Institute for Urban Design
ONA G41 – Neunbrunnenstrasse 50 – 8093 Zurich
contact

TEACHING


DESIGN STUDIO FS15 SCHAFFHAUSEN


Herblingertal, Schaffhausen

Developing Herblingertal – Schaffhausen

As part of the Design Studio, we will develop urban design plans for the Fulach and Herblinger valley in groups of four to six students. These will respond both to the regional context and the concrete local situation, including the local actors. What potentials can be found in these areas?  Are there alternatives to the current development? What role can the valley play in the future spatial development of the city of Schaffhausen? And how can the existing environment be meaningfully transformed in the face of an uncertain future?

 

Strategic urban design action requires the knowledge of spatial, socio-economic, planning, technological and historical contexts. It is necessary to recognize the existing potentials and to develop sustainable designs on their basis. Designs can be poweful visions that make a concrete contribution to and provide food for thought for the evolution of local planning. The urban design studio will be held in close cooperation and coordination with the Schaffhausen City Planning Department. In the context of the interim reviews, the designs will be discussed continuously with representatives of the City and Canton, and with invited architects and planners.

 

The canton of Schaffhausen has nearly 80,000 inhabitants. Almost half of them live in the town of Schaffhausen. The agglomeration Schaffhausen is part of the Zurich Metropolitan Region is well connected with transport means both regionally and nationally. It also includes the northern Zurich Weinland, the district Diessenhofen of the canton of Thurgau, and the German city Büsingen.

 

The Herblinger valley

Due to the enormous economic impetus after the World War II, Schaffhausen developed into an important site for heavy industry. Though many factories were forced to close in the 1980s, it was possible to re-establish the economy through a liberal tax policies and a targeted location promotion to international companies. Today, over 70% of workers are employed in the service sector. The city is located on the Rhine and has a challenging topography: the hills and valleys have led to a strong segregation of uses.

 

Due to the high demand for land in the 1960s and 1970s, the Herblinger valley was redeveloped as an industrial and logistics area. At the same time the front part of the valley (Fulachtal), north of the city center, operated as a freight rail station. These areas still have major land reserves.

 

Organisation

• Maximum 24 Students

• Group work, Studio in ONA, E25

• Teaching languages: german and english

• ECTS Credit points:  13 + 3 (P) 

• Collaboration with the City of Schaffhausen

• Semestertermine:

   Introduction: Tuesday, 17.02.2015, 10:00, ONA G27  

   Interim reviews: 10.03.15 / 15.04.15 / 05.05.15

   Final review: Wednesay, 27.05.2015

 

Contact

Michael Wagner

PROFESSUR FÜR ARCHITEKTUR
UND STÄDTEBAU —

PROF. KEES CHRISTIAANSE

Postanschrift: ETH Zürich – Institut für Städtebau
HIL – Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5 – 8093 Zürich
Besucheradresse: ETH Zürich – Institut für Städtebau
ONA G 41 – Neunbrunnenstrasse 50 – 8050 Zürich
Kontakt

LEHRE


ENTWURF FS15 SCHAFFHAUSEN


Herblingertal, Schaffhausen

Herblingertal – Schaffhausen weiterbauen

Im Rahmen des Entwurfsstudios werden wir in Gruppen von vier bis sechs Studierenden städtebauliche Entwürfe für das Fulach- und Herblingertal entwickeln. Dabei werden sowohl übergeordnete regionale Zusammenhänge als auch die konkrete Situation der relevanten Akteure vor Ort in die Betrachtung mit einbezogen. Welche Potentiale stecken in diesen Räumen? Gibt es Alternativen zur gegenwärtigen Entwicklung? Welche Rolle kann das Tal in Zukunft für die räumliche Entwicklung der Stadt Schaffhausen spielen? Und wie kann die bereits gebaute und gelebte Umwelt angesichts ungewisser Zukünfte sinnvoll transformiert werden?

 

Städtebaulich strategisches Handeln im Raum setzt das Wissen über räumliche, sozio-ökonomische, planerische, technologische und historische Zusammenhänge voraus. Es gilt, die Potentiale der Situation zu erkennen und daraus nachhaltige Entwürfe zu erarbeiten, die als potente Visionen einen konkreten Beitrag und Denkanstoss für das weitere Vorgehen und die Planung vor Ort leisten können. Das städtebauliche Entwurfsstudio findet in enger Zusammenarbeit und Koordination mit dem Stadtplanungsamt Schaffhausen statt. Die Entwürfe werden im Rahmen der Zwischenkritiken kontinuierlich mit Vertretern von Stadt und Kanton sowie eingeladenen Architekten und Planern diskutiert.

 

Der Kanton Schaffhausen zählt knapp 80‘000 Einwohner. Fast die Hälfte davon leben in der Stadt Schaffhausen. Die Agglomeration Schaffhausen ist Teil der Metropolitanregion Zürich und verkehrstechnisch sowohl regional als auch überregional gut erschlossen. Zu ihr gehören auch das nördliche Zürcher Weinland, der Bezirk Diessenhofen im Kanton Thurgau und die deutsche Stadt Büsingen.

 

Das Herblingertal

Mit dem enormen Aufschwung nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg entwickelte sich Schaffhausen zu einem wichtigen Standort der Schwerindustrie. Nachdem in den 1980er Jahren viele dieser Betriebe schliessen mussten, gelang es, durch eine liberale Steuerpolitik und gezielte Standortförderung international tätige Firmen neu anzusiedeln. Heute arbeiten über 70% der Erwerbstätigen im Dienstleistungssektor. Die Stadt liegt direkt am Rhein und verfügt über eine anspruchsvolle Topographie: Hang- und Tallagen haben zu einer starken Segmentierung der Nutzungen geführt.

 

Aufgrund des hohen Baulandbedarfs in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren wurde deshalb beispielsweise das Herblingertal neu als Industriegebiet erschlossen. Zur gleichen Zeit wurde im vorderen Teil des Tals (Fulachtal) nördlich der Altstadt auch ein Rangierbahnhof in Betrieb genommen. Diese Gebiete verfügen auch heute noch über bedeutende Baulandreserven.

 

Organisatorisches

• Maximal 24 Studierende

• Gruppenarbeit, Studio im ONA, E25

• Unterrichtssprache: deutsch und englisch

• ECTS Kreditpunkte:  13 + 3 (P) 

• Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Schaffhausen

• Semestertermine:

   Einführung: Di, 17.02.2015, 10:00 Uhr, ONA G27  

   Zwischenkritiken: 10.03.15 / 15.04.15 / 05.05.15

   Schlusskritik: Mittwoch, 27.05.2015

 

Kontakt

Michael Wagner