CHAIR OF ARCHITECTURE
AND URBAN DESIGN —

PROF. KEES CHRISTIAANSE

ETH Zurich – Institute for Urban Design
ONA G41 – Neunbrunnenstrasse 50 – 8093 Zurich
contact

TEACHING


ELECTIVE COURSE HS12 AGRICULTURE IN TRANSITION


Bilder: Kampagne Schweizerischer Bauernverband

Protagonists of the Kulturlandschaft

Agriculture in Transition 

Elective Course | Prof. Kees Christiaanse, H. Disch, M. Wagner

Thursdays, 16.00-18.00 pm, HIL H 40.4 Plaza

Introduction Session: 20th. September 2012

 

37 percent of the surface in Switzerland is being used for agriculture. 3.6 billions Swiss francs of tax revenues are spent yearly in agriculture. 23 percent of constructions are outside of building zones, in rural communities and cantons even more than 40 percent. They are (or were meant to be) reserved for 'agricultural and market gardening activities'.

 

The conflicting use of the territory between residential areas, mobility, agriculture, recreational activities, forestry and energy production are increasing. Not only in cities, but also in large parts of rural areas, life is becoming increasingly urbanized. Prosperity, demographic and socioeconomic change as well as the globalization are leaving their marks in the supposedly idyllic rural homeland.

 

In this elective course "Agriculture in Transition" we will examine the current situation of farmers, taking into account spatial and urban-planning criteria: with the help of maps, interviews, photos and diagrams we will, in groups of two students, document, characterize and analyze the socioeconomic interaction and the spatial ramifications of agricultural land use.

 

The aim of this elective course is to gain a deeper understanding of contemporary spatial interactions in the domain of agricultural use of the land. A collection of portraits of all the examined farms should arise and will be the summary of all works. Subsequent to the semester there is the opportunity to delve deeper into this subject, within the framework of our main research Kulturlandschaft, as a free elective work. 

 

Kontakt Michael Wagner

PROFESSUR FÜR ARCHITEKTUR
UND STÄDTEBAU —

PROF. KEES CHRISTIAANSE

Postanschrift: ETH Zürich – Institut für Städtebau
HIL – Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5 – 8093 Zürich
Besucheradresse: ETH Zürich – Institut für Städtebau
ONA G 41 – Neunbrunnenstrasse 50 – 8050 Zürich
Kontakt

LEHRE


WAHLFACH HS12 LANDWIRTSCHAFT IM UMBRUCH


Bilder: Kampagne Schweizerischer Bauernverband

Akteure der Kulturlandschaft

Landwirtschaft im Umbruch

Wahlfach | Prof. Kees Christiaanse, H. Disch, M. Wagner

Donnerstags, 16.00-18.00, HIL H 40.4 Plaza

Einführungsveranstaltung: 20. September 2012

 

In der Schweiz werden 37 Prozent des Bodens landwirtschaftlich genutzt. 3.6 Milliarden Franken aus Steuergeldern fliessen jährlich in die Schweizer Landwirtschaft. 23 Prozent der Gebäude stehen ausserhalb der Bauzonen, in ländlichen Gemeinden und Kantonen sogar über 40 Prozent. Sie sind (bzw. waren zumindest ursprünglich) der 'landwirtschaftlichen Bewirtschaftung und dem produzierenden Gartenbau' vorbehalten.

 

Die Nutzungskonflikte um das Territorium zwischen Siedlung, Mobilität, Landwirtschaft, Freizeit und Erholung, Forstwirtschaft und Energieproduktion nehmen zu. Nicht nur in den Städten, sondern auch in weiten Teilen des ländlichen Raums ist das Leben zunehmend urban geprägt. Wohlstand, demografischer und sozio-ökonomischer Wandel und die Globalisierung hinterlassen ihre Spuren auch in den vermeintlichen Idyllen der ländlichen Heimat.

 

Im Wahlfach 'Landwirtschaft im Umbruch' werden wir die aktuelle Situation der Landwirte unter Berücksichtigung räumlicher und städtebaulicher Kriterien genauer unter die Lupe nehmen: Anhand von Karten, Interviews, Fotos und Diagrammen werden wir in Zweiergruppen die sozioökonomischen Wirkungszusammenhänge und die räumlichen Auswirkungen der landwirtschaftlichen Nutzung dokumentieren, charakterisieren und analysieren.

 

Ziel des Wahlfachs ist es, ein vertieftes Verständnis zeitgenössischer räumlicher Wirkungszusammenhänge im Bereich der landwirtschaftlichen Nutzung des Territoriums zu erlangen. Als Zusammenfassung aller Arbeiten soll eine Portraitsammlung der untersuchten Landwirtschaftsbetriebe entstehen. Im Anschluss an das Semester besteht die Möglichkeit, das Thema im Rahmen unseres Forschungsschwerpunkts Kulturlandschaft als freie Wahlfacharbeit zu vertiefen.

 

Kontakt Michael Wagner